Hazelnut Soap

I’ve been wanting to make a hazelnut soap for a while, so recently I ordered a small amount of hazelnut oil and spent some time on SoapCalc working out a recipe.  I ended up using coconut oil, olive oil, palm oil, castor oil, shea butter and 17% hazelnut oil.

Pictures 212

I used a Hazelnut fragrance oil, and I knew that it would darken up the soap a fair bit, so I didn’t use any colourant for the bottom half, and added some titanium dioxide to the top half.  I love the simplicity of it, and it smells amazing!

8 thoughts on “Hazelnut Soap

    • Thanks Silvia. It’s funny but for some reason I’ve been reluctant to make the more simple soaps, and feel compelled to swirl. I do think I’ll be making more of the simple styles in future (though I’ll never be able to give up swirling completely = addicted :-D)

    • Thank you Natalia – I’ve just been over to have a look at your soap (I missed that post somehow) and it looks lovely! How funny we both made nutty soaps at more or less the same time 🙂

    • Thanks Monica 🙂 I made it quite a while back (and forgot to post about it!) so I’m already using a bar – it has a great lather as well as smelling fab!

  1. This is a very fitting fall soap, I think. So pretty with the two tone and it’s gotta smell great with the combination of oils and the scent added.
    I have never used Hazelnut oil before – I’m gonna add that to the list of things to try. The list is getting very long at this point!

    • Thanks Lindsey. It was my first time using Hazelnut oil as part of the soap base. It did accelerate a little, but that could well have been the fragrance oil rather than the hazelnut oil. I’m so with you on the ‘list of things I want to try’ – it’s definitely getting longer and longer as time goes by!

Leave a Reply

